Free Art

We were asked by our lecturer to take part in #FreeArt Dundee. This is a social engagement project the encourages artists to leave art around the city. Hopefully whoever finds the art will post it into social media.

I decided to create something that would encourage the user to engage with other people. At first I thought about games and things like noughts and crosses. Then I remembered the small paper fortune tellers that I used to play with when I was younger. You would make one and play with your friend to determine your future.

Instead of making on that predicts your future I centred mines around ‘Random acts of Kindness’. Hopefully encouraging the user to think about the ways that they can affect someone, even if it’s just by smiling or complimenting a stranger.

I am going to place my piece of art in the DJCAD campus on Thursday (10/11) and hopefully I will get some feedback over social media over the weekend.

Leave a Reply

