Letters home Dashboard (1/3).

This brief is to design an interface/dashboard for a website called ‘Letters home’.

This website contains galleries of different animated typography gifs. It’s a very digital concept. When thinking of the website name I kept thinking about real letters. I thought about letters and different typography and decided that my font could be ‘American Typewriter’. This is an iconic font and using this for the web page title alone gives it an identifying quality. This really led my ideas and formed my final idea.

I decided to make the whole dashboard a contrast to the modern technology it was presenting. I wanted to make it similar and iconic to the ink typewriters that were used to write letters home. Also because of the iconic font I think this relates back to the whole point of the website, which is to make galleries of typography.

img_6320

In my sketch book I began playing around with the different symbols I could you for the icons on the dashboard. I used pintrest to look at different symbols and icons and how they could be presented. I think I preferred the simpler icons as they were easier to understand and not quite as confusing for a new user to immediatley understand which icon meant which.

Letters Home Dashboard (2/3)

Letters Home Dashboard (3/3).

5 thoughts on “Letters home Dashboard (1/3).

  1. Pingback: Letters Home Dashboard (2/2) – gilesart

  2. Pingback: Letters Home Dashboard (2/3) – gilesart

  3. Pingback: Letters Home Dashboard (3/3). – gilesart

  4. Pingback: Picture Symbol Icon: Connectivity Blog Post Submissions. – gilesart

  5. Pingback: Picture Symbol Icon: Connectivity Blog Post Submissions. | Johnstone design

Leave a Reply

